These are the best moments…

We lie in his super comfy twin bed together.
We are snuggling.
I am singing…”hush little baby, don’t say a word, momma’s gonna buy you a mocking bird”…he is tapping the familiar rhythm out on the wall with his little fingers.
I get through all the verses and he says…”you forgot the billy goat”…I smile because I know I did not forget the billy goat, I know he is just so relaxed and familiar with the song, because I have been singing it to him since he was a newborn, that he just zoned out and didn’t hear it.
It is nice to know I have embedded small things, like this song, into his memory already.
Anyway, just to be sure we do not miss out on the billy goat part, I sing it once more.
Then he wraps his arms around my neck.
We nose kiss about ten times.
Then he smashes his face into the small space between mine and the pillow.
I feel his breath on my cheek.
His arms start to get heavy, his breathing slows and shallows.
I peek at him with one eye to find his are shut softly with those long curly lashes poking out at me.
I feel his shoulder muscle twitch against my chin and I know he has drifted off to sleep.
I wish for this feeling to stay with me always.
It is a peace my heart and my mind long for each day.
A peace I cannot replicate by recalling these moments, it only exists as they occur.
Maybe that’s what makes them the best….

Andrea

Leave a comment

Filed under motherhood

Leave a Reply

