Peeling potatoes IS NOT a punishment

I’m sure we’re all familiar with that old image of military men and a gigantic pile of potatoes that need peeling.

Things are never that dreary in my kitchen and my son gets excited about peeling potatoes when I pull out the apple peeler.  I am in charge of jamming the potato onto the spokes and taking it off so he does not cut his hand on the blade.  However, the job of cranking the handle and managing the long snake like peels is all his and he loves it.
Photobucket
This works great for homemade mashed potatoes and is also a huge hit with apples in the Fall for pie.  He loves to be in the kitchen with me.  I’d make him an apron if I didn’t think my husband would object to him wearing one.

I definitely recommend investing in a peeler/corer/slicer.  This is one gadget in my kitchen that does not collect dust.
Photobucket

picture from Amazon

Andrea

8 Comments

Filed under cooking

8 responses to “Peeling potatoes IS NOT a punishment

  1. I love that peeler, so fabulous! What a great site you have. I found your link on Mom Dot. I hope you have a great day!

    Ashley
    Beauty4Moms.blogspot.com

  2. Okay, I am so in love with that thing. Where did you get it from?????

    Thanks
    Crystal
    marvelousmasons.blogspot.com

  3. My son loves to be in the kitchen too! I’ve never seen a potato peeler like that! How cool!

  4. What a great idea! I say you get him an apron! you never know he could be the next Jamie Oliver!

  5. Thanks. I am going to get one… Yay!

  6. That is really cool! I think I NEED one of those… 🙂 Thanks for stoppin’ by!

    http://theladyisablogger.blogspot.com

  7. Thanks for the compliments on my blog today!

    I say get him (or make him!) a camo apron… I think even my Hubs would approve an apron if it were camouflage!

  8. Hilarious! I love your boy’s proud face peeling potatoes. 🙂 He is so adorable.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

